Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

C6k Assault Rifle

polycounter lvl 11
Offline / Send Message
Zack Fowler polycounter lvl 11
For about a week now I've been working on an assault rifle design. My general goals for it are to be from a near-future setting and have a kind of weighty feeling to it, like it could work as good club when you run out of ammo. I wanted to make it seem convincingly realistic, though, like something that you would expect a soldier to know how to disassemble and reassemble and carry around daily.

The final goal is to import and show it off in UE3. Right now I've just about finished up the high-poly model, although I still need to add the detailing differences on the right side (replace cocking mechanism with case ejection etc) and other small details.

I've never worked on a firearm before, or used one, and although I did a decent amount of research there's probably some common sense stuff I'm missing. One issue I'm aware of is that the slit for the cocking mechanism seems like it would clip through the back of the gun when it's pulled back. Still brainstorming a fix to that, any suggestions are welcome.

Blah blah blah, time for pictures!

Current high-poly mesh:
sv6po3.jpg

Some stuff showing the process:
jagoxs.jpg

And the top design here:
hv9k5u.jpg

Paintover concept based on a mockup 3D model:
4u84yx.jpg

3DS MAX 2008, 160k triangles on working mesh

Replies

• ae.
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    ae. polycounter lvl 12
    not sure why noone has commented but i gotta say that high-poly looks ACE! im not a big gun junkie so i dont know what to tell you about the design.
  • Jarod1872
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Jarod1872 polycounter lvl 10