Home Technical Talk

Cintiq has pop-up windows for modifier keys

polycounter lvl 12
Offline / Send Message
foreverendering polycounter lvl 12
annoying.jpg

This is my first time using a cintiq 21ux, and for some reason everytime I hold down a modifier key (shift, ctrl, alt) I get a pop-up window like the one circled above telling me what I'm holding down.

It's really annoying when sculpting cause a lot of times the window gets right in the way of what im trying to look at. Does anyone know how to get rid of this?

I think it has to be the cintiq cause I don't get the pop-up on my lcd monitor.

Replies

• pior
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    pior grand marshal polycounter
    If you are on vista this is usually caused by the OSs own pen ink stuff : writing recognition, weird tabletPC features, all that. You can try to disable everything by going to (from memory...):
    - control panel,
    - programs and features,
    - add and remove windows features (on the left panel)
    - tabletPC components.

(we did that last night on someone's machine at work, he was getting a weird rotating circle cursor under his stylus presses)
  • Kawe
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Kawe polycounter lvl 8
    hmm. I have tabletPC optional components off and it still shows up every now and then. not really annoying but it lags my games that I play in Windowed mode. it disappears if I ctrl+alt+del and go back to Windows though.
  • bounchfx
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    bounchfx mod
    pior wrote: »
    If you are on vista this is usually caused by the OSs own pen ink stuff : writing recognition, weird tabletPC features, all that. You can try to disable everything by going to (from memory...):
    - control panel,
    - programs and features,
    - tabletPC components.

(we did that last night on someone's machine at work, he was getting a weird rotating circle cursor under his stylus presses)