Home Technical Talk

Trouble with silo 2.0

Bummer6
polycounter lvl 13
Offline / Send Message
Bummer6 polycounter lvl 13
I'm just getting started with 3D actually, so some of you might find these questions really stupid and the answers really obvious. Anyway, I'm going to model a base mesh, nothing fancy, just a very low poly man.

First question! How do I turn symmetry on? If at all possible.
Second question! What is the easiest way to model a human body in silo? Any tutorial vids would be helpful.
Third and final question! How do I devide one face into two or four?

Thanks in advance.

Replies

• kary
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    kary polycounter lvl 18
    1) Select an edge in the middle and press N

2) Look on Nevercenter's site, and look at Southern's minotaur series, it is perfectly portable to humans.

3) Cut it (x).

Take a look at the wiki, it's got a lot of good info in it.
  • James Edwards
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    James Edwards polycounter lvl 18
    I would recommend using instance mirror instead (select object, hit shift+i). Symmetry can easily become corrupted when you make changes to your mesh, like bevels, extrudes, cuts etc - anything that changes the order/number of points in the mesh can cause it to degrade. This actually happens in other programs as well that use true symmetry (no instancing).

Instance mirror never gets corrupted because it's not actually mirroring the mesh (you can't edit one side because it's just a ghost of the original).

What I usually do is add a cube, (or any object really). Split it down the middle, delete the left side, then hit shift+i to toggle the instance mirror, and start modeling. When you are done and want to mirror the object for real just hit shift+m again to turn off the instance mirror and do a regular mirror operation on the mesh.
  • Ged
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Ged interpolator