Home General Discussion

So how bad is the job situation in the industry right now?

I graduated last year with a mediocre portfolio, but I still got some interviews from a few companies. I never got a job beyond the contract one I'm in now but my career advisor kept telling me that it's not me but the economy right now. Is that actually true? I'm under the impression that the game industry is recession-proof, but I'm not so sure.

Is it uncommon to be out of school with no full-time job in this industry, or is my career advisor right? I have a real hard time gauging right now, but I can tell you that I haven't gotten any interviews lately and I think a lot of the stuff that used to be in my portfolio when I did was a lot worse.

Replies

• EarthQuake
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Truth be told, no industry is recession-proof. There have been more than the typical end of the year layoffs this time around, but i dont think the situtation is absolutely dire yet. I think in general the games industry may be able to handle a recession better than most other industries, but what do i know.

Anyway, its very common for students just graduating to have trouble finding a job, unless they have an excellent portfolio, this is true even in a good economy, because studios are looking to hire experienced people over people with degrees. With the recent layoffs, you have more and more experienced, qualified people fighting for every job, which is bound it make it a lot harder to get any sort of position.

So, thats a bunch of stuff that you can't really control, now here some stuff that you can: Continue to work on your own, you say your portfolio is mediocre, start posting your work here for critiques, listen to them and work on improving, and revamp your portfolio with better work. If you can continue to do contract, stay with it, any experience working in the industry is very valuable, onsite or offsite.
  • PolyHertz
    Options
    Offline / Send Message