Home General Discussion

Simple Question - Plasma or LCD

Saidin311
polycounter lvl 11
Offline / Send Message
Saidin311 polycounter lvl 11
I'm in the market for a new tv. My old one is about 8 years old it's a GIANT 40 inch CRT. The thing is like 2 feet deep and weighs a million pounds.

I'm not looking to break the bank, but now is a pretty decent time to buy a tv as the prices seem to still be dropping. 40-48 inch tv's run about 999 in Canada which is about my budget. I might even cross into Buffalo if I can save THAT much on a tv.

But the question is do I go for Plasma or an LCD or any other types. I'm pretty new to flatscreens and really don't know the advantages or disadvantages of either.

The TV is primarily for Movies/Sports/Xbox (in that order).

Any suggestions?

edit: While we're at it anyone particular with a certain brand? I'm looking at an Aquos (which is Sharp). But I've also always been a fan of Panasonic. Not the biggest Sony fan though.

Replies

• chrismaddox3d
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    chrismaddox3d polycounter lvl 17
    http://www.highdefforum.com/
    http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/
    ive done alot of research on forums,
    posting 2 links above i use,
    went into store and looked at lcd and plasma both,
    asked around alot on people who own them both,
    ive heard sports games look better on plasma,
    for gaming plasma doesnt lag what ive been told and lcd does sometimes,
    dont let plasma burn in scare you away,
    the new one have a white wash to fix the burn in if it happens,
    after looking at both i think plasma has more true colors,
    every one has there own opinion,
    here are 2 plasma im looking at getting soon,
    [ame]http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0015PFUO0/ref=s9_sims_c4_s2_p23_t1?pf_rd_m=ATVPDKIKX0DER&pf_rd_s=center-4&pf_rd_r=0AJZYXPPADTCTTSQ54SK&pf_rd_t=101&pf_rd_p=463383411&pf_rd_i=507846[/ame]
    Samsung PN50A650