Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Environment W.I.P

polycounter lvl 9
Offline / Send Message
Orgoth02 polycounter lvl 9
Hey All,

This is my first time posting on Polycount and I am glad to be a part of it's community. I have been doing alot of lowpoly stuff with the current project at my work and I wanted to get back into the highpoly scene. Here is some of the reference that I am using and a few renders of my progress so far. Let me know what you guys thank C&C are encouraged. Lots more to to do...back to work.

reference01.jpg

reference02.jpg

reference03.jpg

thread01.jpg

thread02.jpg

thread03.jpg

thread04.jpg

thread05.jpg

Replies

• Tadao215
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Tadao215 polycounter lvl 13
    looks very good i like it :)
  • DInusty
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    DInusty polycounter lvl 17
    lookin good. keep at it!
  • Pope Adam
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Pope Adam polycounter lvl 11
    Very well done sir, I'm really liking the textures.

I believe I might see a seam in the very bottom screen shot. The horizontal tube, on the end facing the viewer. Easy fix though.

May I recommend painting in a bit more wear and tear in areas that would help explain where this object was interacted with? Brushed up against? Dirt kicked on to from the floor? - as of now the grunge is rather evenly dispursed, with no areas specifically affected more than other areas.

Looks very solid though, and very believable. Rock on.
    ADM
  • PixelMasher
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    PixelMasher veteran polycounter
    this should turn out awesome given the great ref pics. for the metal its looking a bit muddy brown style which is harder to avoid when it comes to rusty metal. I would take out some of the color and let a color spec drive the deeper browns and reds. also there is a seam like adam said on the end piece, i would put that seam where the natural one is one loop back from it.