Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

First Modular Building

polycounter lvl 18
Offline / Send Message
DanConroy polycounter lvl 18
Hello all,

Just thought I'd post this up, I took a picture at a local park and thought what the hell I could really use the practice doing building models etc.

Heres the pic :
photoog2.jpg
w800.png

And I'll start with the wire and modular parts shot

wireseq2.jpg
w673.png

Heres some shots of the objects etc in the UE3 Editor, I'm still learning the engine but its nice to see something within a game engine.

assets1ia2.jpg
w850.png
assets2qz2.jpg
w779.png

assets3fz6.jpg
w475.png

assets4wa7.jpg
w701.png

Heres the building in Max and then under it in UE.

render2xj3.jpg
w800.png

ue4uf8.jpg
w1295.png

Sorry for the amount of images, I just wanted to get everything across to get the best help/feedback really.

Thanks for reading and your time.

Replies

• Toast
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Toast polycounter lvl 11
    It's a great model but the building itself is not so interesting (in my opinion).

There seems to be Christmas lights on the reference photo, maybe that could make the building a bit more dynamic? I don't know, I just think the area between the roof and top of the wall, where the gutter is, could have more interesting details.

Other than that it's a good model, and great textures.
  • praetus
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    praetus interpolator
    One of the major things that i notice is your texture has some heavy repeating on it. I couldn't look at the roof without seeing the same image over and over again. same with the siding as well. Try and either clean up your photos or roll with some better ones.

Construction itself is not too bad. I like it.
  • DanConroy
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    praetus wrote: »