Home Technical Talk

[Maxscript] Get the selection order of selected vertices?

I'm trying to write a few little tools for Max now that I'm having to use it properly, some of the more simple bits from the long list of features I miss from modo.

I figured I'd start small and easy and go for modo's weld verts and make poly tools, they rely on selecting vertices in a certain order (weld all selected verts to the last selected vert's position / vertex winding order for make polygon) then firing a command.

But querying the verts I've got selected ends up giving me them in numerical order, not their selected order... Does Max hide that information away somewhere else or does it just flat out not store it?

* I should probably note that I'm a total newbie to Maxscript, so this might be really easy to do, but I've tried looking through google and the help docs to no avail.

Replies

• AnimeAngel
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Well I have never seen max keep anything on the order in which you selected it. Maya can and I was hoping that they would incorporate something like that in max but to date I have not seen anything.
  • Rob Galanakis
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Max stores selected verts as a bitarray. The only way to get the order of verts selected would be to store them as you select them yourself.

Max has its problems but this makes sense- ordering your vert collection should be left to you.
  • Farfarer
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    I was afraid that'd be the answer :P

Still pretty annoying, modo and I'm pretty sure Maya both do that automatically. Ordering your vert collection numerically should be left to you, imo, as that's a far easier task than having to work out the selection order yourself without any help from the app.