Home Technical Talk

Making a Basemesh for Sculpting

artstream
polycounter lvl 11
Offline / Send Message
artstream polycounter lvl 11
Hey guys, I was curious: when making a basemesh for sculpting, is it better to have a face that actually has the eyes, nose, and mouth modeled out, just a smoothed box for a head, or does it even matter? Also, I noticed that in basemeshes with face detail, they have the eyes closed and mouth closed. Would it be better to have the mouth open?

Replies

• rjhalvorson
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Hey guys, I was curious: when making a basemesh for sculpting, is it better to have a face that actually has the eyes, nose, and mouth modeled out, just a smoothed box for a head, or does it even matter? Also, I noticed that in basemeshes with face detail, they have the eyes closed and mouth closed. Would it be better to have the mouth open?

I too have searched for the answer to these questions and I've asked a lot of people. I'm only a student myself so I may be off here, but anyone that knows what they are doing will usually respond with "Well, it depends".

It seems like that is an answer that you will get anytime anyone asks anything about the # of poly's for x item, # edgeloops for a face, #poly's for x character, ect. ect.

So in keeping with tradition. I'll go with "it depends." Is the character going to talk? Is is for a game? An animation? A cell phone? Will it be animated or just a concept still?