Home Technical Talk

modular question

polycounter lvl 11
Offline / Send Message
OBlastradiusO polycounter lvl 11
Im pretty new to this style of creating buildings using the modular chunk method. I had some questions about it. This is the way im doing modulars.

courtsamgu3.jpg

Is it better to have modulars in smaller chunks ie windows, dividers, etc. Or in medium size chunks like a whole wall with windows already embedded in them? The reason i say that is the staircase is slanted downward with embedded windows on the side of the staircase wall. Should i just leave that particular modular medium sized like that or break it into smaller chunks to be used on other buildings? If smaller can i instance the windows on the side without welding them together? Or shelling them as boxes? I hope i made myself clear, if i didnt please let me know.

Also with bigger walls from a modular could i map them like 1024 x 512 to have more uv space?

Replies

• Murdoc
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Murdoc polycounter lvl 11
    Well Modular usually just means peices that can be reused anywhere. Making unique Geo and then just splitting it up isn't very helpful.

For example. On the front facing wall you have 4 window thingys, one of those sections could be broken up and then you just tile it four times and that wall peice could be used elsewhere.

It just depends on where you are going to reuse the stuff, so you could just have the walls and the windows seperate or have one peice together then one peice without a window and a seperate window that sticks out(ex: GoW) etc....

Not really sure if there is a size requirement just whatever you need it for; sizes usually come into issue when looking at the collision its on and how the lighting will react.

ex: when in U3 I found the peices could be pretty damn big and still not effect performance that much... lighting was a little iffy.

the sucky engine I am using now basically dies if anything is more then 3x3m