Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

My first human model

Hello there!
This is my first attempt at a human model, my goal (apart from learning in general) is to import it into XNA as a game character.

If you have any advice or crits please let me know grin.gif

SideNHead.jpgShadeHead.jpg
FrontView.jpg
ShadeView.jpg

Thanks!

Replies

• Ruz
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Ruz polycount lvl 666
    shoulders are too wide, upper legs not fleshy enough or too tapered.
    not a bad try for a first model though
  • boyd600
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Thanks! i have had a go at following your advice Ruz, heres a quick update

FrontAndSide-1.jpg

I think its starting to look a bit better, im not sure about the density of the mesh though.

Thanks again, if anyone has any more crits let me have it! grin.gif
  • vertexguy
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    This is a decent start for your first attempt. The profile is a lot better than the front / back, but there are some issues that effect all your views. The easiest way I can think of to identify them is to take this reference sketch below and overlay it on your model to see where it needs adjusting. One thing no one has mentioned yet is that from the front his feet are way too small and straight. In terms of poly distribution, there are a lot of wasted polys in the chest and head area. Start low and define your most important curves and build up from there or you will quickly find yourself with lots of cleanup to do later on.

Image Reference
  • WickedFingers
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Yea the shoulders/arms are further out than they should be (causes that wide space under both arm pits).