Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Joshua Jones - Level Design - Portfolio *Student*

New to the site and I got a suggestion from a designer at EA Mythic to ask people to look at my portfolio and of course give thoughts on it. I am looking to enter in as a Intern for Level Design or of course a starting position as such,but I am sure that is not possible, but never hurts to apply...

Thanks Everyone!! and glad to be here!!

http://wolgameclub.org/jj/index.html

Replies

• TorQue[MoD]
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    TorQue[MoD] polycounter lvl 19
    Hi Josh

I've been a level designer for about 9 years now and the one thing I have to say (only looking at the Unreal maps) is that you really need to work on detailing your maps as they seem very bare, as well as realizing that flat square walls aren't what most rooms are made of. A key thing to be aware of is that you want your level to look great even if its not filled with prop models such as barrels, crates or anything else. Make the architecture look good enough to stand out on its own.

I actually suffered from the same problem of trying to change the way I thought about the layout and design of a room when I first started mapping too.

For starters I'd say you just need to do some research into some more interesting design ideas. For example, take a look at some different environment concept art and simply try to re-create in 3D some of the sketches that artists make. A perfect place to start would be Feng Zhu's website. http://www.fengzhudesign.com/

I'd say this piece in particular would be a fairly good one to start with as its not overly complex but its still nice to look at. http://www.fengzhudesign.com/env_25.html