Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

zbrush Anatomy Study

polycounter lvl 9
Offline / Send Message
timwiese polycounter lvl 9
Since I had my first life drawing class I have been trying to learn the human anatomy.
I decided to start sculpting a naked male body in zbrush, in order to truly get down the forms of the muscles to learn where they connect and how they flow.
This is my first attempt at doing a muscular male body in zbrush.
The hands, feet and head I haven't started doing much with yet.
I'm not so sure about how the back and forearms look, those are probably my biggest problem areas.

Please comment and critique my work.

AnatomyStudy-1.jpg

Replies

• Zephir62
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Zephir62 polycounter lvl 12
    Pretty good work, though on the front-side the hips look like they protrude a little too much.
  • karera
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    karera polygon
    Arshlevon's basemesh?

Reference study, reference study.. Do that until u think it matches the male body. I see you've started to put in the main shapes, so don't go into details yet, until u feel that you've nailed them. Cos i see some strange rashlooking muscles on his shoulders/forearm.

From what i see now, u should make the hips bigger, define the trapezius muscle, avoid those crazy holes he has in his neck on the sides. And take a good look at a bodybuilder or something for reference on the abdominal area, because now the stomach muscles look a bit flat and not really realistic.

Otherwise nice start dude wink.gif
  • timwiese
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    I worked on the model some, fixed some issues with the shoulders. Cleaned up the neck a bit. I still need to round out of the ab muscles a little more they still seem a bit flat. I also reduced the obliques a bit as they were protruding a bit too much.

Thanks for all help guys. Hopefully I can get this to the point of starting to detail today.

AnatomyStudy2.jpg
  • merlyn
    Options