Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Marlon Brando Bust

polycounter lvl 18
Offline / Send Message
Slainean polycounter lvl 18
I decided to do a character bust so I could finally familiarize myself with creating proper normal maps.

I picked Brando because I think he's interesting, and I won't have to be bothered with concepting a cybernetic vampire hunter or whatnot. This is my main reference:

003xo7.jpg

This is what I have thus far. It's about 1.5 million polygons, and if I subdivide any further my pc will explode.

This is my first time using mudbox and I'm really impressed with it so far. I'll probably redo the eyes in max, and the shoulders will be done separately. The hair will probably need some alpha planes to avoid helmet hair syndrome.

brando1yg8.jpg

Replies

• Neo_God
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Neo_God polycounter lvl 18
    It's a good foundation I think, it just needs a great deal of tweaking. At the moment he looks more like a weird cross of Brando and Cole Hauser.

The eyes are all wrong, you eliminated the layer of fat that is about the eye, look at the photo, do you see his upper eyelid?, you see a small bit of it right at the tear duct peaking out of it, granted he looks as though his head is slightly turned downward, however, Brando has a fairly heavy brown

Look at these other photos of him:
    http://static.flickr.com/44/119015714_20cf3b04d6_o.jpg
    http://cache.eb.com/eb/image?id=77089&rendTypeId=4

the layer of fat above his eye is almost a separate entity in its own, even when he was young it was like that.

I also think his head may be too narrow.

Like I said, you have a good foundation, and now you just need to tweak the forms and proportions, probably shouldn't have already started on those fine little details yet.
  • Ruz
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Ruz polycount lvl 666
    lips need to be way bigger. needs stronger cheekbones too
  • fogmann
    Options
    Offline / Send Message