Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Fanboy

_Gr9yFox_
polycounter lvl 10
Offline / Send Message
_Gr9yFox_ polycounter lvl 10
Hey everyone. I decided to give 3D a go and I started learning Maya. I picked up this sketch:
fanboy_sketch.jpg

I made this mesh (wich I later altered to make everything exist in one object and to eliminate two or three five-sided polys):
fanboy_rp4.jpg

And now I'm trying to learn how to make lay out UVs and create textures. This is where I am so far:
fanboy17.jpg

The model has 1750 tris and a 512x512 texture. I still have to make the big fan on his back and I am trying to figure out how to do it without using up too much polys.

Replies

• pliang
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    pliang polycounter lvl 17
    One main issues I see in the edge loops staying too far away from where the actual joints should be...its prolly gonna have deformation issues when you bend the arms with the joins pretty much next to the shoulders and all.
  • Vitor
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Vitor polycounter lvl 18
  • t4paN
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    t4paN polycounter lvl 10
    It's very good for a beginner actually! You could use a smaller polycount for the shoes, but then again, in 2007 this polycount isn't big anyway. Maybe you could try to go for real low poly as an exercise?

BTW, his smile is psychotic, I like!
  • Acord
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    No no - lower polys is always good, as long as you can get away with it. Makes the model significantly easier to uvmap. I wish some of my first models had looked that good.
  • _Gr9yFox_
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Thanks for the feedback guys! Hey Vitor!