Home Technical Talk

Quads Vs Tris

polycounter lvl 16
Offline / Send Message
BoilingOil polycounter lvl 16
Okay I'm new to all this 3d goodness. I'm making a low poly character and I'm wondering, do I need to create the whole character with quads or is it okay to have triangles as well? I've noticed ZB3 doesn't like tris (it won't reconstruct subdiv's if you have them) and I think I read somewhere about them not being "popular".

I guess i'm asking is it good practice to stay away from triangles in a model?

Replies

• Tumerboy
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Tumerboy polycounter lvl 17
    All geometry in a game is converted to Triangles at some point, so it doesn't matter much if you do it yourself or if you let the exporter do it for you. Obviously the advantage to doing it yourself is that you have more control over which way it divides larger polys
  • almighty_gir
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    almighty_gir ngon master
    a lot of high poly apps, like mudbox, and zbrush, will hate triangles. keeping with quads tends to help keep things neat and tidy, especially if you're planning to export to something like zbrush. i've also found quads easier to UVW map.

however, when i am almost ready to put something in-game, before i start rigging i'll usually convert to triangles and see how it affects the overall curve, and if there's any way i can optimise it better.
  • SuperOstrich
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    SuperOstrich polycounter lvl 17
    I model entirely in quads to create my Zbrush base model, but before I bake out normal maps, I'll edit a few down to triangles here and there if I think it'll make my life easier when skinning/weighting the mesh to the rig. Otherwise, I leave it like it is unless I'm working on a game that is either losing performance to skinned vertices or hurting for memory.
  • Ruz
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Ruz polycount lvl 666
    only girls model with tris:)