Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Chaos Knight - Texturing Practice

Heya. Been lurking here for a long long time, never posted any of my own work.

I've been modelling for about four years now since I was fairly young, but my main problem is that while my modelling has come a long long way, my knowledge of texturing remains fairly basic.

To provide an example, here's a small example of some of my texturing (failed blizz contest entry #1000000!):
http://img85.imageshack.us/img85/7451/be17ca6.jpg

In my four years of modelling I haven't got a single finished piece to show, just a bunch of meshes basically. A lot of this comes down to dedication I suppose, but part of it often stems from me saying "this is crap, I hate texturing, look at that dude's work". I've noticed an increasing level of skill in the texturing and normal mapping areas since then, and I figured I'd need to improve a lot if I ever plan on pursuing this as a career (which I would very much like to do).
So here's the model, I know it's cliche, but I'm a huge Warhammer nut (like everyone else in the planet!) but whatever, it's practice.
knightpersp1nb6.jpg

Before I begin, would it be slightly more beneficial for me to create a higher poly model with some easier-to-texture surfaces before I begin? I have also noticed higher polycounts in things these days, obviously. confused.gif

Replies

• StJoris
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    I'd say, give a shot at texturing him:)
    Don't really get what you mean with this:
    would it be slightly more beneficial for me to create a higher poly model with some easier-to-texture surfaces before I begin?

can you explain?
  • Psyk0
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Psyk0 polycounter lvl 18
    Im pretty much in the same boat as you, ive modeled a bunch of stuff but i never really bothered working on the texture because i also felt it was crappy.