Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Mobile Armour Pilot

Ged
interpolator
Offline / Send Message
Ged interpolator
Im making this guy for a university module. I plan on making a low poly normal mapped model. Ive never made a high poly character model in max before so this should be interesting, I'll try and keep the final model well below 5000 polys...but I am still a bit of a noob. Heres my concept for now. Proportions are a bit off...meh

Mobile_Armour_Pilot_by_SirCula.jpg

theres a screenshot of the model coming soon. Dominance war has inspired me, so sad I cant enter with all this uni work to do.

Replies

• Ged
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Ged interpolator
    Heres the High poly so far. Ive got no idea how I could make all the little holes and details neatly(I dont want to mess with booleans) I know I still have to work on the overall proportions. Critique welcome.
    Mobile_Armour_Pilot_WIP_by_SirCula.jpg
  • Por@szek
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Por@szek polycounter lvl 18
    Nice start. IMO boolean in high poly is the best way, after that u can clean mesh if some errors appear. In other way it will cost u a lot of time. Of course if u won't zbrush it.
    Keep it up, looks promising.
  • IceWolve
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    IceWolve polycounter lvl 18
    I hate cleaning up after booleans.. Just do the way others do it, make a low pole mesh and just subdivide it. that way if you want vent holes or something just extrude square parts inward and then the subdivide or meshsmooth or what ever you use smooths it out. No messy clean ups.
  • Ghostscape
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Ghostscape polycounter lvl 13
    In 3ds Max you can use ProBooleans and have it generate a properly tesselated, fully quad mesh, which is FREAKIN' AWESOME.

I would avoid booleans for the most part but ProBooleans is totally sweet laugh.gif
  • fritz
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    fritz polycounter lvl 18