Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

3D Animation critique

Big Jay
polycounter lvl 17
Offline / Send Message
Big Jay polycounter lvl 17
Hey Everyone -

My name is Jay Nelson and I am a student finishing up at Vancouver Film School in the next couple of weeks. Figured I would drop a link to one of my demo reel pieces. This is a karate kata piece I have been working on. It is 9MB .mov file, so you might just want to download it to your desktop. I am also doing a second dialogue piece for my reel. I will post up the dialogue as a WiP relatively soon, but I would like any kind of feedback you can give me.

http://student.vfs.com/~3d58jay/3d58jay_Noodle50comp.mov

Also, with school ending in a couple weeks, I would appreciate any info on job prospects if you know of any.

Thanks!

Jay Nelson
Vancouver Film School
3d58jay@vfs.com

Replies

• MAUL0r
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    MAUL0r polycounter lvl 18
    whew! that sucker took a while to load! I hate to say it but you could probably cut down on it's size.

as for the animations they're not bad! A little mechanical in a few places, but overall not bad.
  • Big Jay
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Thanks for the comments!

Sorry about the load time... I am trying to get things set up for my new site and for now I just dump it on my school site to atleast host it.

http://student.vfs.com/~3d58jay/3d58jay_karatepieceVer2.mov

This is the update for my piece. This one is 10 MB, but I will try and cut it down. Further comments are appreciated.

Thanks again!

Jay Nelson
    3d58jay@vfs.com
    Vancouver Film School
  • Jeremy Lindstrom
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Jeremy Lindstrom polycounter lvl 18
    I'd probably make it a larger disclaimer somewhere that you aren't taking credit for 'creating' noodle. Just modelling a facsimilie. You don't want people thinking you are trying to take credit for a pretty well known character.
  • FunkaDelicDass
    Options
    Offline / Send Message