Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Looking for a Critique on my character artist portfolio

polycounter lvl 2
Offline / Send Message
jasonm10918 polycounter lvl 2
Hello everyone, 

I'm brand new to Polycount and would like some feedback and critique on my portfolio.  I recently graduated from art school and I have been working on a few assets, trying to get them to a good quality.  I don't have a lot of work to show, but I'm striving for quality so any constructive feedback on what I could work on to improve my current or future work would be greatly appreciated.  

I have just started the process of looking for entry level and internship work so I'm hoping my portfolio will be strong enough with the limited amount of work that I have to land me that first job.  I'm also willing to travel pretty much anywhere that will take me.  Any suggestions or advice from those who are currently in the field on what I should expect or consider while I'm searching to break into this industry is welcome.  

Here's the link to my portfolio: http://www.jasonmetcalf3d.com/

Thanks!

Replies

• Sebeuroc
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Sebeuroc polycounter lvl 13
    Hey Jason, welcome to Polycount! Looking over your portfolio I do have a couple suggestions/thoughts.

•  Biggest thing - I would highly recommend cutting the graphic design stuff entirely. If this is your character artist portfolio and you're applying for jobs in the game industry, then focus your folio on that. If you do graphic design on the side an want to have a place to show your work, then give it another place to live online. It may be best to put your game art on ArtStation and use that for your applications. It's confusing to have both types of work side by side and it undercuts your ability to pitch yourself as either a game artist or graphic designer.