Home Technical Talk

Zbrush Scale - Scene setup/Habits/Professionalism

polycounter lvl 8
Offline / Send Message
JauntyTunes polycounter lvl 8
I've been working professionally for 8 years and I am baffled that I still struggle with scale issues in Zbrush.

It's not just me either, I work for an outsourcing company and I often find that even clients' own assets will be totally off. For example, they will give us a Max scene with the low poly mesh, and a ztool. You open the ztool to find that it's massive on some arbitrary change in scale.

Other frustrations include the brushes. When models are authored to be larger than what Zbrush is comfortable with, everytime you select a brush you're battling the defaulting draw-size (especially the Dynamic size, which it defaults to, is there a way to turn off Dynamic is default?).

Of course one solution is to scale the models down, go to work, then scale back up. But man... this all just seems so stupid.

Basically I'm wondering if the community or anybody on here can link me to some good workflow practices to solve this issue.

Replies

• thomasp
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    thomasp hero character
    the scale issue sounds like some GoZ problem. after suffering a few of those in the early incarnations, i've simply never looked at it again.
    i guess you can play with the scale setting under tool->export to see if that makes any difference. else what we did on past projects was to figure out the scale in max manually and keep a dummy object with these settings around to align our im/exports to.
    as long as the vertex order doesn't change it should also be possible to reimport a correctly scaled model from max and have it retain subdivisions, polypaint and layers in zbrush at the new scale. i've always had problems with that in max though ever since they switched to the newer style OBJ exporter. at least maya, blender, probably others will handle that just fine in a reliable fashion.