Home Career & Education

Advice on how to study stylized

mikewitk
polycounter lvl 4
Offline / Send Message
mikewitk polycounter lvl 4
Hello Everyone,

First of all thank you for your time reading this thread.

Second, I love 3D but I'm passionate about stylized art. I was always avoiding studying it because I'm not very good with colors (colorblind)... but I decided to find a way to overcome this.

I want to get a job at Gameloft Toronto, they do only mobile games with stylized art. I figure out that I need to improve a lot my texturing skills. My modelling skills are ok, I can do everything (given enough time).

So I was searching for some tutorials and I stumbled across this one
http://3dmotive.com/series/stylized-dungeon-in-maya.html

It covers Modelling + Sculpting + Hand Painted textures

The modelling and sculpting are not going to be a problem...however, the hand painted textures might be. What software should I use for it? Photoshop? Subsance Painter? Learn to do on both? Learn how to make stylized texture on Substance Designer as well?

What a mobile company wants?
I want to learn, study, work...and repeat that until I die...but I don't want to feel like running in circles.

Any tips, tricks, comments, memes and jokes are welcomed.
Thanks

Replies

• JordanN
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    JordanN interpolator
    I would say the software you use matters less compared to just mastering the technique. 

Something I've noticed lately when looking at a lot of new portfolios that get posted, is that plenty of artists will already list that they're using substance painter, 3D Coat etc but the actual art they're making just isn't interesting or contains errors.