Home Career & Education

Currently teaching myself the low poly/high poly workflow, I could use some advice.

Kunik
polycounter lvl 3
Offline / Send Message
Pinned
Kunik polycounter lvl 3
So right now I am a student studying 3D art. Rigid body and visualization are my areas of expertise. I mainly use 3ds Max and I feel like I have a good grasp on 3D modeling itself, just not a solid vision of the overall workflow. I can do insanely sharp high poly models, because I have the mindset of "if I am just rendering a beauty shot or a short animation, nobody is going to see if I go nuts with detail." Well currently for my internship, I have my eyes on a local company that specializes in 3D visualization and prop renders and I want at least one piece that demonstrates my understanding of the workflow. Keep in mind that I have not baked a model yet. 

From what I have heard, this company requires a low poly, unwrap, high poly, and then baking for each model they do. From those who are fluent with this, does that sound standard for a low to high workflow? With characters for example, I believe the artist needs to retopo to achieve a low poly version second, followed by a bake. Is retopo ever used or even needed for a simple rigid body prop pipeline?

I am choosing a simple chair scene using Max and Vray for texturing and rendering. I would greatly appreciate any advice before I begin. I understand the pieces, but I haven't demonstrated the whole. 

Replies

• YF_Sticks
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    YF_Sticks polycounter lvl 5
    Hey Kunik. There are several ways to achieve the same result. I'll just tell you my workflow and I hope it will help you a bit.

Let's say we make a Gun.