Home 2D Art Showcase & Critiques

Beginner sketchbook - My anatomy sketches (nudity warning)

Hello I'm a beginner wishing to start seriously and improve.
I currently draw 4 hours (at most) a day but I need to push it further. There was a podcast by Feng Zhu (Design Cinema Podcast EP 6), and I remember something like "it needs to be at least 6 hours or longer or else you will never reach professional standards".
I'm not sure if I'm going to work in the industry (due to the health I have to deal with), all I know is that I always wanted to be an artist who creates professional work.
Anyways my goal is to draw and practice more, and I'm going to start going back to my old notes and have clear goals to aim towards (like what fundamentals I need to practice first). I've been drawing aimlessly by copying anatomy books or doodling and that's no good.
I'll list out the fundamentals of art, write down monthly goals and hopefully I'll improve faster.

Here's what my work looks like now (recent sketches) There's some nudity but I won't show genitals or anything that breaks the rules.

Oh and I draw too much cartoons and anime too. I'm going to focus on realism and keep the anime on the bare minimum.

Any advice will be helpful, and thanks in advance if I receive it (usually I'll reply whether that be asking questions and saying thanks etc., but just in case)

Replies

• lotet
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    lotet hero character
    Hi there and welcome to the comunity!

for starters Id say you have a great attitude towards studying and everything, keep that up and you will get good in no time :)

Im not sure if there are any rules against nudity on polycount tbh, but even if there are I dont think youl have to worry about it as long as its for artistic purposes.

its good that you try to draw from real life and not only cartoons and doing a lot of studies, but thats also the quickest way to burn out, dont forget to have fun as well!