Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

[Unity](WIP) Bassforest

polycounter lvl 4
Offline / Send Message
Ozz14 polycounter lvl 4

Hey everyone, I'm an pretty generalist 3D artist and I'm really interested in the new built-in cinematic capabilities of Unity. My big current project is a Unity short cinematic about a fantasy forest that's actually part of the neck of a giant, mysterious stringed instrument. I estimate that I'm about 35% of the way done with producing assets and figured it was a good time to start a WIP since my momentum has got going. 

Right now I'm creating assets and blocking out a landscape in Unity. The level of detail is something between a rendered perspective of an environment and a big open world level. After this some simple animation, then finally filming and editing using Unity's cinemachine. 

Original concept from an old unfinished painting 

Early Blockout trying to figure out the size of the strings. They turned out much larger than an average person, thankfully I don't plan on any characters besides the strings themselves and few shots from the forest floor. 
Elevating the neck

Terrain, blockout default trees

I decided to start learning Houdini FX, which I soon discovered is an arduous grind. After a couple of days with wrestling it these are the best clouds I could make- keep in mind this is just the geometry, I'm saving figuring out shading these for last lol

The strings will be played by Giant manmade stone "fingers" with a glowing face on each one. These are their concepts

I really trying to up my game in substance with this project- gumroad tutorials help a lot. Left is B2M right is designer. Still need to make a couple of more materials by using these as bases in painter.