Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Sculpting the male Face (Assistance)

JodyLS27
null
Offline / Send Message
JodyLS27 null
Hi there Everyone,  I am an aspiring character artist and have always struggled with the face. This is one I'm working on (Its an African Male from a Witch Tribe).
I can never seem to get the face to look realistic Enough, its always in the Uncanny valley. I have watched the Tutorial on Gnomon about the Realistic Character creation (He sculpts Steve Austin) and the course on Pluralsight but i know there is something I'm missing and just cannot Figure it out.

I know about the Like across the side of the Face, its just from a move I did.
Please Any advice you have would be Greatly Appreciated.

Replies

• carvuliero
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    carvuliero hero character
    Hey there ,
    Most things on him looks good , relations are a bit strange  + you could give face much more depth and for a strong man could use bigger/massive  jaw with jaw angle close to 90 degree maybe less protruding 
    Front to side view contrast thin to wide , I think you should pick one of it and fix the other , its like you have 2 different character 
    If you work on a likeness will be a good idea to share your references 
    You could read some of following topics I have put quite some reference in there that could be beneficial , still if you have any problems feel free to ask 
    http://polycount.com/discussion/comment/2609621#Comment_2609621
    http://polycount.com/discussion/comment/2613654#Comment_2613654
    http://polycount.com/discussion/comment/2606429#Comment_2606429
    http://polycount.com/discussion/comment/2606351#Comment_2606351
    http://polycount.com/discussion/comment/2603143#Comment_2603143
    http://polycount.com/discussion/comment/2596995#Comment_2596995
  • dGreenberg
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    dGreenberg polycounter