Home Technical Talk

Matching render result, how close is close enough? (Painter vs Maya vs Unity)

polycounter lvl 6
Offline / Send Message
bitinn polycounter lvl 6
Happy Xmas everyone,

For this holiday I am trying to learn something that I haven't been able to do in the past 6 months: get Maya viewport and Unity engine to render a PBR model as close to Substance Painter as possible (Such that I can be pretty confident of my SP results, knowing they will look decent in Maya and Unity without spending too much time to double-check).

I have jumped through quite a few hurdle at this point, but since I am not an experienced artist nor a graphic programmer, I don't know if I have reached an acceptable level of similarity yet...

So here are results, are they close enough? How close have you been able to get?

Substance Painter viewport (no post-processing as its AA looks weird)

Maya viewport (with MSAA)

Substance Painter (IRay):

Unity (real-time, only environment lighting from skybox, with FXAA)

I can see the differences are likely coming from IBL implementation details, but how can I get even better results? Please share your screenshots if you have come up with better matches!

Thx and have a nice day!

Replies

• Eric Chadwick
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    What's the purpose?

I'd say you are close enough. Not worth the extra effort, except for learning purposes. 

Professional game artists rely on the model looking it's best only in the game itself. The tools are only for creating the content, not for viewing it accurately. Never will be 1:1.

Best productivity gain is from decreasing the time and effort to refresh the in-game view with the latest model/textures. Live update being the best.

That being said, more power to you in your quest to learn more about each tool. R&D is to be encouraged; reaps benefits not immediately understood.
  • bitinn
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    bitinn polycounter lvl 6