Home Technical Talk

Advice for Zbrush > Game Workflows

StormyBA
polycounter lvl 8
Offline / Send Message
StormyBA polycounter lvl 8
I'm pretty new to Zbrush having spent the last 2 weeks burning through the Three "Intro to Zbrush" video tutorials by Michael Pavlovich, I've learnt a great deal on the inner workings of Zbrush and how to make a good start on getting sculpts done but I'm wanting to find a bit more information or general advice on the step of getting it out of Zbrush and into game. 

As far as I'm aware the steps would be something along the lines of
-Base Mesh either in Zbrush or in another 3d app
-Get it in, sculpt and get a nice highpoly
-Recreate and UV the game ready mesh. (This is where I'd like more info, what app, how are you doing this? does Remesh do a good job? is it mostly done outside of zbrush?) 
-Export high and low as seperate files and dump into xnormal / substance etc to export maps. 

I guess I'm most curious about the retopology step and what software and methods are being used to great game ready mesh. Again, does remesher in zbrush create good enough results these days? or the likes of zpheres to remesh? or do you usally export the high poly into your 3d package of choice and remesh from there? 

Replies

• pior
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    pior grand marshal polycounter
    The issue with this line of thinking is to consider that Zbrush is central to the game asset creation workflow, whereas in reality it is just one small aspect of the whole thing. Sure, some artists may start directly in Zbrush and derive their lowpoly from that. Sure, a lot of things can be retopoed by snapping onto the surface of a high resolution sculpt.

But !