Home Contests & Challenges Archives Riot Creative Contest 2017 Riot Creative Contest 2017 - Narrative

[WIP] Contest Entry (Viktor/Urgot Story)

polycounter lvl 3
Offline / Send Message
Captain_Marvelous polycounter lvl 3
Hey everyone! First polycount so bear with me, I'm new to this. I guess the best way to start is to outline the plan and who/what/why:

Why a Viktor/Urgot story?

I like the idea of these two characters meeting. Both are interested in "progress" but one (Urgot) is focused the idea of uncaging Zaun and is more interested in progress from the PoV of a city's advancement with only minor care to the individual. Conversely, the other (Viktor) wants to see the idea of humanity as a whole advance, not gated to a singular city or nation.

I also assume it'd be hard for these two to meet up so I wanted to craft a "What if" scenario if they both got to sit down for like ten minutes and just discuss their ideas. 

What's the story's goal?

Hopefully, if it all comes out well:
  • Both characters portrayed in a unique-yet-canonical way.
  • Highlight/emphasize the differences in technique and personalities.
  • Provide my own idea on how their confrontation/discussion would go and the conclusion.
  • Most of all, write an enjoyable story that is worth reading.
With that said the first draft should be sometime this weekend. Plus it gives me a reason to practice writing so woo! Feel free to provide criticism as well. Regardless of winning or losing, improvement is key. 

Replies

• Captain_Marvelous
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Hurrah, it's draft time! 

I've done two drafts, albeit the differences between them are negligible. Still, the small differences make the biggest impacts. Draft 1 represents the very first iteration/ideation of the story. Of course, it's unrefined, very simple and probably has a spelling error or two. Off the top of my head, here are some base problems I had/was worried about:

• How well did I portray each character?