Home Animation Showcase & Critiques

Frame rate question.

xel
vertex
Offline / Send Message
xel vertex
Hey 

So I'm still a student and seem to be getting a bit mixed up on which is the best frame rate for showing my animations. I have some animations created at 30fps and some at 24fps. Some even at 29.97. However when it comes to collating all these animations into one showreel, I am going to have some artefacts or just incorrectly timed animations? 

Would I be best re-timing them all to a same standard in Maya or Premier? Would it even make that much of a difference? 

How do you guys go about it? Even with some animations being uploaded at 60fps, how would you put these in your showreel? 

Any advice would be great, thanks! 

Replies

• AnthonyAnimation
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    AnthonyAnimation greentooth
    Premier can handle different frame rates. Going forward I would normalize what frame rate you animate at. 60 fps looks very smooth. It's my opinion, but 24 fps is a bit archaic. I personally animate at 30 fps nowadays. 
  • Hito
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Hito interpolator
    30, or some multiple of 30, up to 120.

29.97 is hold over from VHS/NTSC standard that doesn't really apply any more. You might deal with it if you're digitizing/converting old video. For practical purposes it's close enough to be considered 30.

Reel wise, 30 is fine for most cases, cycles, normal actions, acting shots. etc. 60 is good if your reel is super actiony (Nier Automata, DMC style stuff) with a lot of pose changes in the 0.1~0.15 sec range.

90 and 120 is for VR to mitigate motion sickness from to visual lag when people whip their head around. really overkill if you're just presenting in video.
  • xel
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    xel vertex
    AnthonyAnimation - It can handle these framerates all in the one reel? I'll go for 30fps I think. Thanks.