Home Technical Talk

About UV mapping, best practices

polycounter lvl 7
Offline / Send Message
rage288 polycounter lvl 7
Ive been doing this shit (3d gameart) for about 15 years now and lately there is a thing that bothers me. Making UVS is slow as fuck.
Im primarily a hard surface artist working for videogames and it bothers me that I may spend a whole day making UVS for an asset, say, a machinegun.
I use 3ds max basically for UVS with PolyUnwrapper 4.2.7 and my workflow is usually as follows:

Once I have all the parts of the low poly with correct smoothing groups I auto unwrap them using "Flatten by smoothing group" Relax, do some tweaking by hand maybe weld here and there then correct the smoothing groups in the low poly with "Set smoothing groups from shells" either with Polyunwrapper tool or with a script I have lying there for eons. I do that for all the objects, then select them all (all the ones that will share a textureset), apply unwrap again and do the arranging and scaling of the islands (shells) by hand, because sometimes some parts need less res than other specially on fps guns and because the "Rescale elements" tool in unwrap is broken when u have several objects withe the same modifier.

I find this process tedious and very slow, but thats the way im doing it for ages :/
Now my question is: Are there better tools/workflows? Ive seen some colleagues use UV layout and have used it myself a couple of times but I feel I lack the control I have in max when im optimizing uvs using mirror and/or overlapping and different scales. The pack uvs feature is a charm I admit but it packs all your shit all over the place. I tend to pack it making some kind of sense: trigger here, receiver here, grip here, and so on.

Some advice would be greatly appreciated! :)
Sorry for the long post

Cheers!

Replies

• rage288
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Anyone? Did I missed the same discussion elsewhere? HALP? :pensive:
  • pmiller001
    Options