Home Career & Education

Better path for self-education?

grand marshal polycounter
Offline / Send Message
Alex_J grand marshal polycounter
I'm new to CG. My long term goal is to be able to create game ready assets -- the entire process of modeling, texturing, rigging, and animating -- by myself.

I've gotten a little way into modeling and texturing, but now I've come to a point where to progress deeper I need to start learning more software programs. I have Zbrush, Maya, Mudbox, Photoshop, and Substance Painter 2. I only really know how to use Maya and Mudbox decently.

Recently I've been creating small game prop assets for people at no charge -- an internship for myself of sorts -- and this seems like a pretty good way to challenge myself as I often come to points where I don't know how to do something that I didn't know that I needed to know.

My question, and obviously this is just looking for opinions from people who have been there done that, is should I just focus on hunkering down and learning one program at a time? For instance, just focus on getting fluent in Photoshop, then Zbrush, etc. Or continue making assets and just learning whatever technique in whatever program as I need?

I know there is no definitive answer here, but sometimes I squabble with myself unsure if I'm going the most efficient way.

Expert advice is greatly appreciated!

Replies

• Brian "Panda" Choi
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Brian "Panda" Choi high dynamic range
    If you're getting work experience, prioritize that.

Internships don't replace self-teaching.
  • Zalek4
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Zalek4 polycounter lvl 5
    Hi there!

I'm no expert, but I am 90% self taught. If you're looking to learn a pipeline, I've found it's easier to learn it in reverse.