Home Technical Talk

SLI 1080 cards or one 1080TI for 3D and multimedia?

Hi guys. My name is Kristoffer and Im on the verge of upgrading my GPU from rx480 to 1080. Im a concept art student so I do alot of modeling, sculpting, rendering, in 3D, and I need advice from people who know what they are talking about.. Im at a point where Im thinking if I should get 2 SLI connected 1080:s or one powerful 1080TI? For your knowledge Im using Maya with Arnold, might switch to Vray, Substance Painter, Photoshop, Octane, Keyshot, Modo, and Premiere. The double SLI is slightly more expensive, but if it really is a boost over TI Im willing to invest in it. Im running on a 6700 SKylake, 64 DD4 fast RAM and SSD. Im also looking into getting 4K monitors down the road. Im also thinking about switching to Linux and uusing Blender which I hear good things about, together with 3dCoat. Using Zbrush now. What shall I think about? I have been watching some YT videos, but I really need an experts opinion.

Replies

• Axi5
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Axi5 interpolator
    You really don't need that much GPU power if you're going to be rendering with V-Ray or Arnold, though it's still a good to have.

Go with the single card, I hear too many compatibility issues with SLI happening.
  • PolyHertz
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    PolyHertz polycount lvl 666
    SLI is not recommended as few apps these days properly take advantage of it, and it may even introduce glitches that aren't there when using a single GPU. 1080Ti is by far the better option.
  • white_wildfire
    Options
    Offline / Send Message