Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Sculpting and Rendering a likeness would like tips and feedback

polycounter lvl 11
Offline / Send Message
Grey_Rift polycounter lvl 11
Hey Polycount,

I am trying to make a likeness of a friend of mine. Right now I am at the stage where I started doing the pores.
But I thought It might be a good Idea to get some kind of rendering setup going to get an idea how visible the detail is that I am sculpting onto the model.

Right now this is how it looks in Zbrush:

And this is how it looks in Keyshot:

I am still looking for the right kind of setup it is my first time rendering in keyshot so I will need to play around with the setting a bit more.

If anybody wants to give some feedback on the sculpt itself here is some ref from the Original person:

I still have the feeling that I have more detail in Zbrush. I am not sure if this is because of the render setup or because it needs more detail in Zbrush.
I will try to post an update everyday about what I am tweaking to get the right setup.

Right now my following steps are:
  • Try to setup a decent light setup so I can test the extra detail I put on.
  • Continue adding detail into face 
  • Sculpt more detail into pores
  • Do hair

This would be goal I would like to archieve in terms of rendering:

If anyone has any tips or videos I could watch this would be really helpfull. 

Thank you!! :#:#:#  

Replies

• carvuliero
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    carvuliero hero character
    Currently your references have a lot of lens distortion  , if you have 100mm camera take a new ones with it or use what ever you have but shot from several meters with zoom and place his face in the middle wont be perfect but will be better then what you have 

About your sculpt :
    Biggest thing that jump out is brow ridge and  eyes relations -> you need a lot more brow ridge and placement of eye is not correct , over all all face features are misplaced 

Videos :
    Burne Hogarth :