Home Technical Talk

Serious question. How do you make textures, how do they work and how do you apply them?

Rockatansky
vertex
Offline / Send Message
Pinned
Rockatansky vertex
To be clear, I'm an aspiring 3D artist and I have yet to try making some stuff on my own. I know bits and pieces about the process behind the creation of characters and scenes and stuff, but there's one part of it that I still don't understand. The Texturing. The thing is, I can't look up and watch an online course because 1: Most of them are pay-wall'd and 2: I have no way of paying for it, so what's left are some crappy, not up-to-date tutorials. Anyway, I would love if anyone of you in the community, especially the pros that work for the top-notch videogame/movie companies, could give me some in-depth insight on how you work with textures. I'm not asking for a tutorial, just explanation. Thx in advance

Replies

• Ged
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Ged interpolator
    Hi! Thats unfortunately a very complicated question because it depends on so many factors. What type of game are you making? whats the art direction of that game? what type of device are you aiming for eg mobile or ps4? what shader will be applied to the model etc etc. These all impact on the method for making the texture.

So my advice would be to have a go at something and let people here critique your work, old tutorials would still be helpful for you to watch - theres no quick way to learn this stuff. Everyone starts off  in game art not knowing what works best and how to make something really look good, that just comes with years and years of experience and hard work learning and pushing ourselves.