Home Career & Education

Best Payment Method for Freelancers?

interpolator
Offline / Send Message
JunkieKong interpolator
Hey all, this question is for all the seasoned freelancers on Polycount. I've been freelancing for a couple years now with moderate success, but I still haven't landed on an ideal method for receiving payment from international clients. I'm in Australia so most of my work comes from overseas, for some clients a direct bank transfer is best for me because its just a fixed conversion fee per transaction but it can be a big fee for the sender depending on their bank. I also use Paypal but only just realised that when I receive a foreign currency I get charged an additional fee for currency conversion (probably not at a great rate either) on top of the 2.9% cut they take. And it adds up.

So I'm basically wondering what services others use for payment and what their experiences have been, especially if its foreign income? It might be worth sticking with Paypal just because its convenient and everyone has an account.

Replies

• JunkieKong
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    JunkieKong interpolator
    Nobody has any thoughts? That's cool.
  • Jonas Ronnegard
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Jonas Ronnegard polycount sponsor
    Hello, 

I always get paid by wire transfer / bank transfer from studio clients, which is always ideal,
    for other things I get paid with paypal which is less ideal since they have hidden fees in the currency exchange which is always about 5% less or more then the current market, so it's the same as they take a 5% fee on international transfers.

At the same time I also use paypal to pay work I outsource since it is simple and easy.
  • JunkieKong
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    JunkieKong interpolator