Home Technical Talk

Zbrush, why does it seem random if using edit will work or not?

vertex
Almost pulling my hair out trying to follow videos on literal complete beginner starter steps on zbrush, I have made very simple models of head already, but I am trying to follow the videos, every other minute I am restarting because something has gone wrong and I literally have no idea why.

The main issue is starting zbrush, pull out a 3d sphere, sometimes instantly can press t and edit, other times I have to do the make polymesh3d button, then sometimes after doing that, it doesn't work to press the edit button or pressing T.

Also Ctrl N has only one started a fresh canvas, other times it doesn't do anything, which I think is something to do with Editing and Drawing options?

But in short, losing my mind over trying to follow the simple beginner videos step by step, I do not understand what I am doing different but I have to be doing something different as each time I restart it seems to be random if I can get past the editing part or having the sphere go a darker shade.

I have multiple websites and threads saved to read, but struggling to know which one to start with or which would help currently, love this program but jesus soon as I am trying to learn the tools and how to model properly compared to actually just modelling, it is just making me hate it which is no good:(

Thanks if you can provide help with my issue and if anyone has a free video that they think would be ideal for someone who is starting out please please please link it, I have some paid videos that have been suggested already but want to use the free content as much as possible before paying.

Replies

• cryrid
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    cryrid interpolator
    First, start with this: http://polycount.com/discussion/comment/2571163/#Comment_2571163

It is absolutely critical that you understand the difference between the 2d document and the 3d tool.