Home Technical Talk

PBR Texturing Workflows and Industry Standards

polycounter lvl 8
Offline / Send Message
ZeroStrike polycounter lvl 8
Hello Polycount. I know that I am kind of late to this party, but I want to know 'in general' which PBR texturing workflow people use Substance or Quixel? And why/what they use it for?

I already have Quixel Suite, but not MegaScans. I have only really completed one project as a test of the technology a few years back. I am still very new to PBR in general. I am planning on possible investing more into PBR skills/software. What are some of the strengths and weaknesses of each program? Do AAA studios normally use Substance now? Kind of like how Zbrush become king after a few years with Mudbox basically dead?

I would like to get more skilled at doing AAA Environments would Megascans or is Substance more versatile?

Is there another forum here which has cover this topic already?

Thanks for your knowledge and experience.   

Replies

• ZeroStrike
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Nothing? I guess, I'll post in FB 10k see if I get an answer there.
  • Axi5
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Axi5 interpolator
    Just use them and see how you feel.

Most people seem to be leaning towards Substance but the more and more I use it, the more limitations and annoyances I find. Studios will just use what they have, just comfortable with the workflow.
  • ZeroStrike
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Thanks for the replay. I'll cross post any answer I get.
  • ActionDawg
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    ActionDawg greentooth
    Axi5 said:

Most people seem to be leaning towards Substance but the more and more I use it, the more limitations and annoyances I find. Studios will just use what they have, just comfortable with the workflow.
    What kind of limitations and annoyances have you experienced? I've had basically nothing but good times with all their software.
  • Axi5
    Options