Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

[WIP] UE4 Futuristic Mechanics Garage

polycounter lvl 7
Offline / Send Message
TheoClarke polycounter lvl 7
Hi Polycount!

I'm a 3D environment artist currently working on my final scene for my Master degree in Games Design. I decided to make this thread to post progress and maybe seek some feedback.

The scene is a mechanics garage set in the near-future (mid 21st century e.g year 2050), in a dystopian world. It is implied that the people who occupy and use the garage are militants or geurilla soldiers. I am new to creating sci-fi environments (I usually prefer historical themed projects) so I have decided to try and diversify my portfolio with this scene. Because the scene is set in the near future, I am trying to get a nice balance of run-down/damaged modern-day architecture and themes, with subtle futuristic design cues injected into the scene through the vehicle, lighting and props. The vehicle is a fictional armoured personnel carrier that largely takes design inspiration from the BTR series and LAV25 series of vehicles.

Here's the most recent pictures of the scene. Older pictures can be seen at the bottom of this post and throughout the thread. I am open to any and all feedback, thank you for reading!

Final Pictures! (October 10th)

Original Topic Pics (August 4th WIP):

Earlier Pictures:

And here's some progress pictures from the beginning of the project up until just before the pictures seen above.

The earliest of these pictures is from June 2nd.

3D concept blockout in UE4, June 2nd:

June 8th, untextured modular assets in UE4:

June 13th, WIP textures on the architectural assets:

July 14th. The APC took over a month to model.

July 17th, texturing begins on the APC:

July 24th, more work on APC texture:

July 27th, even more APC texture work:

July 31st, placeholder props added, reflections, lighting and post-processing work begins: