Home Career & Education

My 3D model was used for KICKSTARTER campaign video. (need advice)

Jit
Jit
vertex
Offline / Send Message
Jit vertex
Hey guys

Little something about myself - I am a 3D character artist with a passion for 3D printing, I upload my models for people to download free for 3D printing. 

So recently on my birthday, I was browsing through YouTube for the latest 3D printers. As I was watching this commercial video for a new 3D printer; suddenly I saw something that looked familiar. I skipped back to take a better look and to my surprise It was a printed model of my 3D character, alongside other different models. I was really glad to find that someone would choose my model over all other models that are probably way better than mine. I didn't really think of anything wrong with it at first, then it hit me, isn't this a violation of my copyright? did they ask for my permission? did they credit me? Wait, are they making money off it?

I was keen to know who they were so I searched for the company who made this video, and soon enough it leads me to their KickStarter page and obviously it had the same video that my model was. The funding was a huge success making over $200k within just 2 days. The model they used is available for free for anyone to download so I care not what people do with it. But I never expected to see a company use my model for their commercial use. The problem I had was that they used my design without my consent and even failed to credit the maker. This was a violation of my copyright and also violation of commercial-use since they used my design to promote commercial gain. Because of this I have decided that I should sue them.