Home Technical Talk

Advanced Skeleton For Root Motion?

rockbox
polycounter lvl 6
Offline / Send Message
rockbox polycounter lvl 6
Could someone share their workflow for Advanced Skeleton when working with root animation for game engines?

A common setup (if not the only, correct way) for a rig that will use root motion is to have the root bone at (0,0,0). Next would be the pelvic bone, which in Advanced Skeleton is named "Root". I've found that the way to add the best way to add this bone is to add it to the fit skeleton and then build the rig after. The rig builds seemingly as it should, however, when I try to move the new root bone, which is at (0,0,0), it moves by itself and the skeleton doesn't follow. I think this may just be a constraints conflict with the "Main" controller, which controls the entire rig, but I have little experience with root animation for games and none for Advanced Skeleton.

Replies

• Obscura
    Offline / Send Message
    Obscura grand marshal polycounter
    That sounds like a parenting issue.
  • Mark Dygert
    So this is kind of tricky but I got it working with Unreal and should work with other games. 

You are totally on the right path, but there are quite a few little steps you have to take since the rig isn't really meant to work with games, there are a bunch of end joints you don't need and cause issues in engines, and yes you do need to reparent the root. 

I rig in 2 separate maya files. A AS5 friendly version "1_Builder" and a version "2_ForAnim" that has been altered, I reference this into blank scenes to do animations. If I need to make changes to the rig I go back to 1_Builder and redo the steps to get it ready "ForAnim".

Building the AS5 rig (1_Builder_xxx.ma)
    1. On the fitskeleton, add a bone at 0 0 0, name it Root and rename the old root to Pelvis.