Home Career & Education

Setting up a learning plan and which programs to focus on?

Sareth93
null
Offline / Send Message
Sareth93 null
Hi, I'm im need of a little bit advice here. 

I'm studying in Germany (media informatics) and I have about a year or 1,5 to go. I have not really thought about what to do afterwards until recently. I have discovered my passion for 3d art and I'm now trying as hard as I can to learn everything needed in a short amount of time. 

Now I'm not really certain yet into which direction I want to specialize in because I just don't have enough experience to know what I'm best in. Also, here in Germany it is not that easy to get into the business because there are not so many e. G. Game studios or generally digital art studios. 

Im currently getting into Maya and I'm thinking about how to set up my learning schedule so that I can get the most out of it. I am currently learning the basics and working with tutorials on Pluralsight. 

I also asked myself what other tools I should learn simultaneously. The Adobe creative suite would be one option as it gives me opportunities to enhance my 2d and texturing skills. Would that be a good idea and if yes  which programs Specifically, or should I jump ahead and get into more specific programs like Substance painter or zbrush, or even game engines. 

At the moment I feel like my favorite is the gaming industry, but also product visualization, environment design or 3d video animation would also be areas I'm interested in. 

I'm a little lost because it is so much at once but I am willing to put a lot of effort into it, I'm just looking for the perfect way to organize myself. 

Any advice would be very welcome. 

Thanks! 

Replies

• Ashervisalis
    Options
    Online / Send Message
    Ashervisalis grand marshal polycounter
    Hey Sareth! Good luck for the future.

Here's some programs you should look into learning;
    Maya (as you've already started) for modeling, rigging, animation