Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Phe: Stylised character *help and critique needed*

Hi everyone this is my first post on polycount so sorry if I miss out any details or explanations etc...
I am currently studying a MA and the character I am working on is for my FMP which is a game (you can check out our dev blog here: http://idotrigames.wixsite.com/blog
I've been learning 3D for around 4-5 years but I still consider myself a novice when it comes to somethings; mainly characters as I don't tend to make them too often (hence the help and critique needed in the title).

Current stage: (look below for process and more details)

The character I am working on is called Phe (they are gender neutral); here's the concept I am working from atm:

This is still subject to change as the art style might change as production of the game continues.

Here's the orthographics and 3/4 view I am working from (I know they are far from perfect)

Here is what I have so far: (trust be this is better that the other 2 attempts that I did before this one)

*The reference images at the side are examples to help me with topology*

The programs I will be using are:
  • 3DS Max for modelling
  • Possibly Zbrush (I am a massive noob and only just manage to move around Zbrush let alone model something in it)
  • Photoshop and 3D coat for texturing
  • UE4 for "displaying"

*haven't decided how I will do the hair yet I imagine a combination of modeled parts and hair cards.*

Any help or critique is greatly appreciated :smile:

Replies

• Amber_Jamieson
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    *Update*
    I spoke to a friend and they did a quick paint over to show me how I needed to fix the eye sockets.

I moved onto fixing the model to match this but I was still having trouble with fitting an eye ball into the socket so I got some more help from a friend and the suggested looking at Christina Ricci as she has a similar profile I used this image as reference: