Home Technical Talk

Need opinions about my foliage for UE4

DxDen1004
null
Hello everybody,
first thing first, I would like to apologize for my english :smile:.
Since I've been travelling through Austria in the past days I decided to shot some photos of the local vegetation to use them as textures in Unreal Engine 4. I'm also pretty new at modelling and creating levels, I watched videos around and checked the Polycount wiki many times and I have made some progress and understood the workflow.
Anyway I'm not sure if my work is well done or if I should start from the beginning.

This is one of the plants I've been working on, what do you think about this?

This is another one, but I definitely need to model more variations of it.

This one is a very small plant that's about 3cm to 5cm tall in nature, so I'm not worried about it too much, should I? :smile:

And this is how it looks in a mediocre scene with just a material, a directional light, a Sky light and a Sky sphere.

I should also say that I shot pics of every plant I could find, and for every plant I took photos of a healty leaf, an almost-dead leaf and a dead leaf, in the future I will model more variations for every plant. I created an atlas like this one for every plant:

Last question: I searched a lot on google and on the forum but I couldn't find an answer. How many triangles should a foliage mesh have? I've tried to create models as low poly as I could, trying to get them to look realistic. The average is 100 tris for small plants and 200 for bigger plants.

I can't wait to read what you think of this work, if you have any suggestion or critique I will be very happy to know.
Thanks in advance, have a nice day!

Replies

• Obscura
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Obscura grand marshal polycounter