Home Technical Talk

Noob question on 3DSMax (please help)

triangle
Offline / Send Message
Lilium triangle
I've been working with max for about 2 weeks now, I'm used to work with Rhinoceros 3D where I could easily made solids from splines. But now, it's been three times and 4 hours kinda waisted because I cannot figure out how to work cleanly with splines in Edit Poly. I know that it must be really dumb errors, but since I'm a noob, I just don't know how to repair the error that I can only see later in the process. So I must be working the wrong way.

My questions are simples : How would you go to create the handle of a Bobomb ? And how would you go to create the handle but starting with lines ? 

My last attempt was by creating lines and circle on a plane and then attach and weld everything together. But it creates thoses errors : 

What am I doing wrong..? It feels like it's suppose to be way simplier than that...

Replies

• Butthair
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Butthair polycounter lvl 11
    @Lilium, welcome to 3ds max!
    This is the unfortunate result from converting splines to poly.

You can connect the verts from the outside to the inside, might be a bit tedious and hopefully they all line up.

Maybe this will be simpler, try grabbing all the faces that make up that flat surface side - from the picture, it looks like there are 6 faces to select - then try Inset with a small amount. That should give you a loop that runs inside the perimeter of those faces. 

You can also reduce some time by working on half and using a Symmetry modifer for the other half.
  • Lilium
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Lilium triangle
    I did convert Splines to poly, do you know why doesn't it work properly ? Why does it makes those kind errors every time? 

Making an Inset seems to make stuff even worst :

I think it would be simplier for me to do it again. how would you go to make the back if the splines>editpoly cannot be used..? 

• Butthair