Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

[Unity] CYBORG SAVIOR - A Shooter Game Art Showcase in 90 days - WIP

polycounter lvl 6
Offline / Send Message
j_swan polycounter lvl 6
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jygEC-Nxpvk

Hello fellow poly pushers.
A little background on me: I'm a 29 year old artist most recently working in the film industry doing paint work on 2D and stereo 3D films for about 7 years.
My passion was always in game art and design, I was making full games in Game Maker 15 years ago. However when I graduated in 07 I was lost about how to work in games and I was desperate to start paying off my student loans and living expenses, so I took jobs in web, motion graphics, and then film. I never gave up my dream, because I was still doing art in bursts and keeping up with the indie game scene. However I never put it all together and followed through to feel confident to really push for it. One reason was that I never really enjoyed modelling other people's concepts, so I wanted to improve my concept drawing skills first. I took classes at Gnomon in 2012 for Sculpting and Drawing to improve some of those skills. I also took sculpting with Simon Lee, that was one of my favorite classes ever.

Recently I decided to quit my job and give it a true, serious push. After several years of working in film, and making pretty decent money, my heart kept pushing me to do what I truly believe in and it's got to the point where I will do (almost) anything to achieve my dream of making games as a living.

I decided a solid way to demonstrate my skills is to put together a COMPLETE package of game assets and make a fully functioning game prototype showcasing my concepting/modelling/texturing/rigging/level design skills all in one package that I can have a blast creating.

This thread will contain as much content as I can take the time to show, from concept, early sculpt, timelapses, game design, etc. I'm also posting on a tumblr: https://jswanpolygon.tumblr.com/