Home Technical Talk

Learning to UV... running into some problems with unfold (Maya)

triangle
Offline / Send Message
aryarie triangle
Hi all

I'm trying to learn UV mapping and I'm following the UV Mapping Workflows in Maya tutorial on Pluralsight. The tutorial provides you with an ogre character that you have to unwrap. Up until now I haven't had any problems, but I'm now working on the loincloth and no matter what I do I can't seem to get the same results and unfold behaves very strangely.

Here is the result from the tutorial:

Here's what happens when I try (though it appears to be different every time I've tried - sometimes it just comes out in a completely different shape):

I've been reading around and I think this might be something to do with the UV winding order but I'm really new to this and not sure how to go about fixing it... I'd really appreciate any help.

Replies

• kwyjibo
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    kwyjibo polycounter lvl 7
    In your screen shot, the shell is flipped (red vs blue). That could be causing problems depending what tool you're using. You could also try splitting the shell up into smaller pieces and then stitch them back together.
  • Ruflse
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Ruflse polycounter lvl 6
    Are you trying to relax the shell without cutting it first? I can't see it very crearly by your screenshots, but if that mesh your are trying to UV is closed you are not going to get good results just by relaxing it, just because it doesn't have any opening from where it can be relaxed and create a flat UV. Think of it as a shirt, where would you cut if you would want it to lie as a planar proyection, without any part of the shirt overlapping another?