Home 2D Art Showcase & Critiques

Is my character art good enough? (Anime - Visual Novel)

polycounter lvl 7
Offline / Send Message
mikolajspy polycounter lvl 7
Hi, I've been mostly doing realistic 3D Art, but around a year ago I decided to create my own game and figured that Visual Novel would be simple, so I started learning to draw in that style.
I know that on this forum there are very few art of this kind, but I hope you can give me some feedback and critique.
The genre of the game will be slice-of-life/comedy so I'm aiming for colorful and happy style.
Is the art pleasing for the eye or is it still horrible?

Here's one of my characters with different clothes, emotions and hair style.

Replies

• lotet
    Offline / Send Message
    lotet hero character
    Id say its definitely passable, especially when making a game you shoudlt nitpick to much on single art assets. with that said you can always improve, its just a matter of setting goals :) 

and its not like we have anything against this style of art you know, its more the standard deviant art attitude, aka, cant take critique and going with the "the anatomy isnt wrong, its stylized" argument. so as long as your here to learn and take critique your very welcome to post anime as far as im aware, Ive never tried though so I cant promize anything :P :)

some things to consider is a bit more defined anatomy and consistent perspective in the clothing.
    for example, if your looking at the hips, the shirt of nr 2 and nr 4 has a downward angel, suggesting we are looking slightly down on the character, however nr1 has an upward angle to the shirt instead.

what I mean by more defined anatomy is mostly noticeable in your joints, like hip and shoulders. everything is kind of rounded of and comming of a bit blobby.

take a look at this for example.