Home Career & Education

Interior design background trying to transition into video game A&D - where to start?

rattar
null
Offline / Send Message
Pinned
rattar null
Hey guys,

I have a bachelors in Interior Design and am looking to transfer those skills into the video game industry. I primarily worked with SketchUp, AutoCAD and Photoshop to create and render my designs. Based on that knowledge I was wondering if some of you could recommend where my best starting point would be if I wanted to transition into creating architecture and interior design for video games.  I realise that AutoCAD might be the only transferable skill but I'm completely open and willing to learn new programs.

My two biggest questions at the moment are: What sort of job position would my past experience serve me best in? Based on those positions, what programs would be essential for me to learn for me. 

Are there also any programs worth noting when it comes to designing VR worlds?

Any help or suggestions you have for me would be greatly appreciated. Thanks for your time!

-R

Replies

• aryarie
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    aryarie triangle
    rattar said:
    My two biggest questions at the moment are: What sort of job position would my past experience serve me best in? Based on those positions, what programs would be essential for me to learn for me.
    I would say that you would be looking at becoming an environment artist as it sounds like you already have the skills for creating things like props, buildings, interiors etc.

To begin with you might want to pick up an educational version of either 3ds Max or Maya as these two are the industry standard tools. I'm not sure how they compare with AutoCAD/Sketchup. Photoshop is also industry standard for creating textures so it's good that you already know that. :)

You'll also need to get used to working with a game engine like Unreal Engine (i.e. getting your assets into the engine and building your environment).
  • rattar