Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Lady of the Sith - Need Help & Advice

polycounter lvl 6
Offline / Send Message
liketotallyakid polycounter lvl 6
hey guys, this is my first time on polycount! i hear it's a great place to connect with other artists and get amazing help and critique. if you can let me know what you think to improve this piece i will be more thankful than i can describe.

it's based on a concept by Marcin Koszalski, (link to his concept here) because as soon as i saw it i just couldn't resist making something like it in 3D.

it's very frustrating right now because i know it's not quite there yet, but i can't put my finger on it. is the trooper texturing bad? is the cloak material off? the sabers composed right? can the lighting be better? I'm working on adding some more smoke to the mid ground, but that's taking a lot of time and i don't know what to do with everything else in the meantime.
if you can help me out with any suggestions and advice, or anything that stands out to you, please, i'm begging.

Thanks a lot, and i really appreciate you trying to help me make this better!

P.S. base female model in DAZ3D, all else done in blender, and textures from poliigon.com with some hand painting.

#StarWars #female #character 

Replies

• liketotallyakid
    Options
    Offline / Send Message

I updated the lighting and started introducing some more background elements. I will change the pose from here, and try to come up with a decent color grade to find a look that feels right.

any advice will be really helpful, let me know if anything stands out!
  • Brian "Panda" Choi
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Brian "Panda" Choi high dynamic range
    Her hand position doesn't feel right.  In the original concept, there is this graceful, but dominant palm downward shehas.  With the way you have her posed now, it's like she's actively choking someone in front of here where there doesn't seem to be the person.